ACCEPTANCE

 

a Poem by Raquel Swann

 

When I was young you helped me grow.

There were things you didn’t know.

I was ashamed to tell you so.

Mom, will you accept me for who I am?

There were hurtful things you had to say

When you found out my brother was gay

I can’t imagine this will be okay

Dad, will you accept me for who I am?

You were shocked when I showed you me

Dressed up like a lady for you to see

You said I gave you anxiety

Wife, will you accept me for who I am?

I was there in that room

When all four of you came out of the womb

We played ball or watched a cartoon

Children, will you accept me for who I am?

As I step into the light and out of my shell

I’ll look in the mirror and see Raquel

Maybe I’ll finally be happy, out of this hell

Will I accept me for who I am? 

