“Will you still be my Daddy?” Asks a little girl. Her voice is laced with worry and confusion.

“Of course, sweetie. I will always be your Daddy,” a soft voice answers. A single tear streams down her face as she gazes at the little girl.

“Well, Mommy said you would be another Mommy now. Not my Daddy anymore. I don’t understand”

“Darling, I will always be your Daddy. Does it matter what I look like? Should it matter?”

“Well, no. But…”

“But, what?”

“I just don’t understand what is going on. I am very confused,” the little girl responds. Her voice is trembling and she looks in her fathers eyes for answers.

“Well. Ever since I was younger – I knew I was different. I just didn’t want to believe it for all these years. I was born a girl like you, but my body looks like a man. Now, I want my body to match how I feel inside,”

“So you will be a Mommy.”

“Not exactly. To you I will be your father. Dad, Father, Daddy are just words that describe my role.”

“Your role?”

“My responsibility to you. You already have a Mommy. I will always be your father, or dad, or daddy. Whichever you prefer to call me.”

The little girl scratches her head and smiles. “So you will look different but you will be the same?”

“Yes.”

“Will we still go to the park?”

“Of course.”

“Will we still go to Mcdonald’s for breakfast?”

“Yes.”

“So why is everyone making a big deal about this?” Inquires the child.

“There are many people in the world who think this is wrong. They are against people like me being happy for who we are. They want me to live the life they think I should live.”

“You have been really sad lately.”

“I know. That will change. I will be happier.”

“To see you smile again would all be worth it, Daddy!”

Tears streamed down her face as she reaches out her hand to embrace the child. “My god, I love you so much. Remember. i will be the same person inside. Nothing will ever change. Do not allow anyone to make you feel like i don’t love you. Because I always will.”

“I won’t, Daddy.”

“Some people may make fun of me.”

“I won’t let them.”

“You are young. For now, just let people say what they want to. This is my fight right now. Just know that I love you.”

“I know.”

“Always remember what we spoke about today, darling. One day you will make the choices that make you happy. I will be there to support you know matter what they are.”

“Will something like this happen to me?”

“Not necessarily. But we are all faced with difficult descions. You have to make your own mind up about how the world is supposed to work. Don’t let anyone else tell. Learn. With knowledge comes power. You will be very powerful. Okay, I have to go now.We will talk again soon.”

“Okay, daddy. I’ll see you next week. This was not so bad. I thought you were sick or something.”

“I love you. I’m glad you understand. It makes me so happy.”

