Sinful

a Poem by Raquel Swann



It’s sinful how you touch me

without lifting a finger.

It’s sinful how you linger in my mind

When you’re miles away.

It’s sinful how I smile

With just a mere thought of you.

Who are you?

Where did you come from?

Why am I so lost?

It’s shameful how I hide you

Away from the world.

It’s shameful how I suppress you

Behind my desperate eyes.

It’s shameful how I don’t allow you

To be who you are.

Why do I feel this way?

When will I learn?

What can I do?

One day you will emerge

What will they think?

One day you will find success

Will it make a difference?

One day you will be happy

And I will be gone.

The shell that contains you.

The vessel that enslaves you.

The scared child who is afraid of you.

There is but one life to live

And I can’t live both.

